Published: Thu, November 08, 2018
Sport | By Ruben Hill

Red Sox get 3 Gold Glove winners

Red Sox get 3 Gold Glove winners

"Now in our 61st year of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award, this year's honorees are well deserved and truly define defensive excellence", said Mike Thompson, chief marketing officer for Rawlings Sporting Goods.

The 29-year-old was named to the Gold Glove team for the first time Sunday night following a season in which he made only one error in 124 games, 266 total chances and 1,057 1/3 innings.

Both Mookie Betts and Jackie Bradley Jr. earned the award for their work in the outfield, with Ian Kinsler getting the nod at second base. "If you are rewarded at the end of the year with an award, then it's a plus".

Keuchel is the only pitcher in franchise history to win a Gold Glove Award and is just the fourth Astro at any position to win four-or-more Gold Glove Awards, joining second baseman Craig Biggio (1994-97), outfielder Cesar Cedeño (1972-76) and third baseman Doug Rader (1970-74). Additionally, no Toronto Blue Jay placed in the top 25 of top AL qualified players by SDI. Diamondbacks shortstop Nick Ahmed, Braves center fielder Ender Inciarte and Braves right fielder Nick Markakis also won in the NL.

Flaherty, who went 8-9 in his first full season as a starting pitcher with the Cards, took to Twitter to criticize Major League Baseball for choosing to unveil awards during a showdown between Tom Brady and Aaron Rodgers.

Oakland and Colorado each had two Gold Glove winners in the infield.

St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina took home his ninth Gold Glove, but his first since 2015.

Like this: