Published: Tue, February 05, 2019
Sport | By Ruben Hill

Gonzalez, Reed, Bailey lead 2019 HOF class

Gonzalez, Reed, Bailey lead 2019 HOF class

After being named a finalist for the third consecutive year, former Jacksonville Jaguars offensive tackle Tony Boselli missed the cut of five in Saturday's Pro Football Hall of Fame voter's process. In his 17 seasons with the Kansas Chiefs (12) and Atlanta Falcons (5), Gonzalez recorded more than 50 receptions 16 times, including 14 seasons with 70 or more catches.

In a 17-year career that ended with the 2013 season, Gonzalez caught 1,325 passes, the second most in National Football League history, for 111 touchdowns.

Reed led the league in picks three different times and led the league in interception yards twice, twice registering returns of 106 yards or more (his high is a 107-yard return). He had 57 career interceptions as he made six AFL All-Star Games, and late in his career played in a Pro Bowl and was All-NFL in 1970. Law started at cornerback in three Super Bowls for the Patriots, winning all of them.

Cornerback Champ Bailey, tight end Tony Gonzalez, safety Ed Reed, cornerback Ty Law, center Kevin Mawae, contributor Pat Bowlen, contributor Gil Brandt and safety Johnny Robinson made the cut. Law was drafted in the first round of the 1995 NFL Draft by the Patriots and served as one of the most dominant defensive backs to play in his era. He also won Super Bowl XLVII with the franchise.

Reed, a nine-time Pro Bowler and five-time All-Pro, was the ball-hawking leader of the Ravens' always-tough defense.

"From when I retired and found out they were going to have the Super Bowl here, I was like, well, that times out if I could be a first ballot - if I'm lucky enough to be a first ballot - it's going to be in Atlanta!"

The 48-year-old spent most of his career with the New York Jets and also played with the Tennessee Titans and Seattle Seahawks. He blocked for Hall of Fame running back Curtis Martin in all of his seven 1,000-yard seasons with the Jets. He was part of LSU's 1958 national championship team.

A pioneer of scouting, Brandt is best known for his time as vice president of player personnel with the Cowboys, helping form a dynasty in the 1970s.

Like this: